CHAN Qualifier: Squad for Djibouti Duel Announced

Ethiopia coach Ashenafi Bekele has named 18-man squad for the upcoming African Nations Cup (CHAN) qualifier first round fixture against Djibouti. CHAN is a tournament solely dedicated for local based players.

The first leg will be held in Djibouti slated for July 15. The team had a two weeks residential camp in Eastern Ethiopia city Dire Dawa. Mekelakeya striker Minyelu Wendimu has been laid off from the traveling squad after he got injured during training session. The late arrival of Kidus Giorgis players Asechalew Tamene, Salahdin Said, Menetesnote Adane, Natnael Zeleke and Behailu Assefa meant they are omitted from the squad. The players were involved in the Total CAF Champions League final group stages tie against Esperance last Sunday where the Tunis side hammered the Ethiopian champions 4-0. Another Kidus Giorgis defender Salahdin Bargicho misses out after sustaining an injury while playing the Ethiopian Cup fortnight ago.

First choice goalie Abel Mamo is also axed from the squad. Samson Assefa of Dire Dawa Ketema replaced the Mekelakeya custodian. The squad is predominantly assembled from the Waliyas team that suffered a 5-0 loss against Ghana back in June. Desta Yohannis and Amsale Tilahun were awarded first ever call up to the senior side.

The team leaves for Djibouti later on Thursday night. The return leg will be played in Hawassa on July 23. CAF have appointed Somalia referees to officiate the match. Arbiter Hassan Mohamed Hagi and his assistances Hamza Hagi Abdi, Suleiman Bashir Abdi and Bashir Olad Arab will officiate the CHAN first round fixture between Djibouti and Ethiopia.

Full Squad


Jemal Tassew (Mekelakeya), Samson Assefa (Dire Dawa Ketema), Lealem Birhanu (Sidama Bunna)


Abdulkerim Mohammed (Ethiopia Bunna), Anteneh Tesfaye (Sidama Bunna), Mujib Kassim, Tesfaye Bekele (Adama Ketema), Desta Yohannis (Hawassa Ketema) , Amesale Tilahun (Fasil Ketema)


Shemkit Gugesa (Dedebit), Mulualem Mesfin (Sidama Bunna), Gadissa Mebrate, Tafesse Solomon (Hawassa Ketema), Biruk Kalbore (Adama Ketema)


Getaneh Kebede (Dedebit), Addis Gidey (Sidama Bunna), Abdulrhaman Mubarak (Fasil Ketema), Ame Mohammed (Jimma Aba Bunna)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *