Dedebit FC Crowned Champions of the Ethiopian Women First Division

Dedebit FC secured their third Ethiopian Women League title in row last Saturday in Addis Ababa. The Blues confirmed champions of the league after they beat Gedeo Dilla 3-1 to finish the league with their unbeaten record.
Dedebit brushed Gedeo Dilla aside 31 in Addis Ababa.  A Menderin Andehun’s own goal and a brace from inspirational midfielder Birtukan Gebrekristos sealed the win for the Blues. Sara Nebesso struck the solitary goal for the Dilla town based club.

Ethiopia Nigd Bank thumped Kidus Giorgis 4-1 in a game played out at Bank Ground. Defensive midfielder Hiwot Dengiso grabbed a brace while Rehima Zerega and Bizunesh Sisay got the other two goals. Mekelakeya defeated Adama Ketema 2-1 to end the season being in top 3.

Dedebit crowned champions for the fourth time in their history with 44 points. Ethiopia Nigd Bank and Mekelakeya finished second and third. Ethio-Electric and Sidama Bunna have been relegated to the second division while Tiret Corporate, ArbaMinch Ketema, Addis Ababa Ketema and Tirunesh Dibaba Academy have been promoted to the first division for the 2018/19 season.  From next season onwards the league will feature 12 clubs.

Dedebit forward Loza Abera elapsed the season having scored 17 goals to take the golden boot award for a fourth time in a row.

Week 18 Results

Kidus Giorgis 1-4 Ethiopia Nigd Bank

Mekelakeya 2-1 Adama Ketema

Dire Dawa Ketema 2-2 Ethio-Electric

Dedebit 3-1 Gedeo Dilla

Sidama Bunna 0-0 Hawassa Ketema


1. Dedebit                           44

2. Ethiopia Nigd Bank       41

3. Mekelakeya                    27

4. Hawassa Ketema           25

5. Adama Ketema               21

6. Gedeo Dilla                  21

7. Dire Dawa Ketema     19

8. Kidus Giorgis                18

9. Ethio-Electric               15

10. Sidama Bunna              15

Top Goal Scorers

17 – Loza Abera (Dedebit)

12 – Rehima Zerega (Ethiopia Nigd Bank)

10 – Sara Nebesso (Gedeo Dilla)

9 – Bethlehem Seman (Kidus Giorgis)