Selam Zereay Names Squad for CECAFA Women Championship

Ethiopian women national team head coach Selam Zereay has summoned 22 players for the upcoming CECAFA Women Championship which has been set for July 19 – 27 in Kigali, Rwanda.

The squad is largely comprised of players that competed in the just concluded African Women Cup of Nations Qualifier. Lucys’ will not be getting the service of star striker Loza Abera as she is attending a tryout in Sweden. Coach Selam has overlooked team captain Rehima Zerega whilst Birtukan Gebrekristos makes a return to the national side.

Full Squad


Genet Aklilu (Dedebit), Tarikuwa Beregena (Tiret Corporate), Nigest Meaza (Ethiopia Nigd Bank)


Meselu Abera, Bizuayehu Tadesse (both from Kidus Giorgis), Bethlehem Kefyalew (Ethio-Electric), Hasabe Muso (Tiret Corporate), Meskerem Kanko (Dedebit), Tarikuwa Debiso (Ethiopia Nigd Bank)


Bezawit Tesfaye (Kidus Giorgis), Alemnesh Geremew (Ethio-Electric), Aregashe Kelesa (Ethiopian Youth Sport Academy), Emebet Addisu (Mekelakeya), Senayit Bogale, Birtukan Gebrekristos, Tigest Zewede (all from Dedebit), Hiwot Dengiso, Zuleka Juhad (both from Ethiopia Nigd Bank)


Senaf Waquma (Adama Ketema), Misre Ibrahim (Tiret Corporate), Mirekat Feleke, Lidet Toloa (both from Hawassa Ketema)

The regional tournament has attracted five East African nations. Ethiopia will open their CECAFA Women Championship campaign on Saturday 21th of July against Uganda. Ethiopia finished off the 2016 tournament being 3rd after trouncing Uganda 4-1. Tanzania are the reigning champions.

Saturday, July 21/2018

Ethiopia vs. Uganda

Monday, July 23/2018

Rwanda vs. Ethiopia

Wednesday, July 25/2018

Kenya vs. Ethiopia

Friday, July 27/2018

Ethiopia vs. Tanzania