Jimma Aba Jifar FC Crowned Champions of Ethiopia

Newly promoted side Jimma Aba Jifar have been crowned champions of the 2017/18 Ethiopian Premier League. The Western Ethiopian outfit become the second side to win the league title on their first ever stay at the topflight.

Jimma Aba Jifar took the league crown off giants Kidus Giorgis in round 30 of the Premier League. Aba Jifar trounced Adama Ketema 5-0 at home while Kidus Giorgis defeats Hawassa Ketema 2-0 in Addis Ababa.

Nigerian import Okikiola Afolabi bagged four goals whilst Temesgen Gebrekidane grabbed the other for Jimma on their 5-0 mauling of the helpless Adama Ketema side. Jimma Aba Jifar have won maiden league title bettering runners ups and record Ethiopian champions Kidus Giorgis on goal differences.

Goals from Salahdin Bargicho and Mulualem Mesfin gave Kidus Giorgis a 2-0 win over Hawassa Ketema but it was not enough to retain their league crown.

Jimma Aba Jifar take the championship title with 55 points from 30 rounds. Jimma Aba Jifar, Jimma Ketema as it’s formerly known as, got promotion to the Ethiopian Premier League this season. Under the guidance of coach Gebremedhin Haile the team has become the second side after Kidus Giorgis to win a league title on the same year they won promotion. It is the first league title win for former Ethiopian international Gebremedhin as a coach.

Nigerian import Okikiola Afolabi wrapped up the top goal scorer accolade after netting 23 times. The former Sunshine Starts forward has became the second foreign player following fellow countryman Samuel Sanumi to achieve the feat. Afolabi is the first non-Ethiopian player to score 23 goals in a season.

League Table

Top Goal Scorers

23 – Okikiola Afolabi (Jimma Aba Jifar)

13 – Kalusha Alhassan (Ethio-Electric)

Samuel Sanumi (Ethiopia Bunna)

12 – Getaneh Kebede (Dedebit)

Addis Gidey (Sidama Bunna)