Ethiopian Cup| Mekelakeya are The Champions

With Ethiopian National Team head coach Abraham Mebratu in attendance, Mekelakeya beat Saint George 3-2 on penalties to become Champions of the Ethiopian Cup for the 14th time.

St George came into the game having made only one change from their team that beat Sidama Buna in the semifinals, with Abubeker replacing Tadelle, deploying a 4-2-3-1 formation. Mekelakeya retained their starting eleven from their 1-0 victory over Ethiopia Buna in the Semifinal.

The first half saw very few chances. Getaneh had the best chance of the game in the 40th minute which was saved by Mekelakeya keeper Yednekachew. The second half entertained plenty more chances as both sides pushed for the winner. Menyelu Wondimu had enough chances to put Mekelakeya ahead but wasn’t able to make his opportunities count.

The game ended goalless after 90 minutes and the sides went into penalty shootouts to determine the winner.

Aschalew and Gaddisa scored for St George while Nathnael, Behailu, and Getaneh missed. Menyelu, Temesgen, and Abebe scored to hand Mekelakeya a 3-2 win despite Shemeles and Dawit failing to convert their spot kicks.

Following their win at Hawassa international stadium, Mekelakeya will represent Ethiopia in the 2019 CAF Confederations Cup.